Archive for July 2, 2007

New Museum Announces the Altoids Award for Emerging Artists

The New Museum and long-time supporter Altoids, the Curiously Strong Mints®, have announced the establishment of The Altoids Award. “A first of its kind, the prize will be awarded biennially by the New Museum to four emerging artists nominated and selected by a panel comprised entirely of other artists. The award will consist of a $25,000 cash prize for each of the four winners – totaling $100,000 — as well as a joint exhibition at the New Museum’s new building on the Bowery.”

It is important to note that this important grant – with significant cash awards – is not something artists may apply for; another argument for you to get your work out into the arts community, update targeted professionals on your accomplishments and newest works, etc.

How can you be nominated for one of the growing number of grants that are decided by nomination only if we don’t know your work?

More from the press release:
“The unique award selection process calls for a geographically and stylistically diverse group of ten artists to each nominate up to five emerging artists, which they have identified as producing especially innovative, unusual and powerful work. The nominators themselves were selected for the quality of their work and their proven commitment to publicly supporting the artistic community through writing, teaching, organizing exhibitions and running alternative spaces.

The nominators for the first Altoids Award will be:

Edgar Arceneaux, Los Angeles
Allora and Calzadilla, San Juan, Puerto Rico
Mitch Cope, Detroit
Trisha Donnelly, San Francisco
Harrell Fletcher, Portland, OR
Jay Heikes, Minneapolis
Matt Keegan, New York
Rick Lowe, Houston
Frances Stark, Los Angeles
Michelle Grabner, Chicago

Several of the nominators – Edgar Arceneaux (2002), Trisha Donnelly (2001), Harrell Fletcher (2002) and Jay Heikes (2002) – were also selected early in their careers for the New Museum’s Altoids Curiously Strong Collection. The first four Altoids Award recipients will be chosen from the nominated pool of artists by three established artists known for their ground-breaking work and for their unflagging commitment to engaging and supporting new talent: Paul McCarthy, Cindy Sherman and Rirkrit Tiravanija.The recipients will be announced in early 2008, and a presentation of their work, organized by New Museum Curator Massimiliano Gioni, will debut in the first floor gallery of New Museum’s new Bowery home in fall 2008.”


Leave a Comment