2007 “Santa Fe Prize for Photography” Winner Announced

Albuquerque-based photographer Leigh Anne Langwell has been awarded the 2007 Santa Fe Prize. The juror for the 5th annual Santa Fe Prize for Photography was Vince Aletti, photography critic and regular contributor to The New Yorker, Aperture, the Photo-eye Booklist and Photograph Magazines.

You can read Aletti’s statement here.
You can view Langwell’s winning portfolio and statement here; she was named a Finalist for this award in 2003.

Aletti named five finalists this year as well: Kristin Asburn, Jessica Dimmock, Chad Kleitsch, Brian Lesterberg and Mikhael Subotzky; their portfolios submitted are available here.

Additionally, I encourage you to view the list of names of all the nominated photographers. It is an extraordinary accomplishment to be nominated, and I applaude all of those nomineed for their dedication to their work.

The Santa Fe Prize for Photography recognizes and rewards a gifted and committed photographer who has completed, or is near completion of, a meaningful body of work. This prize was initiated to bring new work to light, and international photographers are eligible.

The award process is by nomination only; photographers cannot apply independently. The prize includes $5,000 and participation in Review Santa Fe; the cash award must be used to complete a body of work or to introduce a completed project to a larger audience.

For more information on the Santa Fe Prize, organized by Center (formerly known as the Santa Fe Center for Photography), click here.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: